Friends of the Libraries of Birmingham Call To Lobby Your Town Councillors

save the library placards

The following is from the Friends of the Libraries of Birmingham (please note, as far as we are aware, BCC are not looking to fund the library long term but are willing to help make it self funding through the regeneration and letting of the 2nd floor):

Save Sutton Coldfield Library!

Lobby Your Town Councillors Tuesday 25 April.

We are asking you to lobby the councillors of Sutton Coldfield Town Council at this month’s council meeting, at which the future of Sutton Coldfield Library will again be discussed. The issues will include a decision as to whether to confirm the release of Town Council funds to support the library.

Earlier in the year the town council agreed to provide £150k as a contribution to a library service funded by Birmingham City Council. In March it released just £30k, with the remainder to be reviewed at this month’s meeting in the light of progress by Birmingham City Council (BCC) on the work needed to set up the Red Rose Centre for the library service. This includes building/refurbishment work and letting out the second floor.

The negotiations between the two councils are at a critical stage. It will strengthen the Town Council’s hand if you confirm that you would support the use of Town Council funds (your money) as a contribution to the continuation of a library service funded by Birmingham City Council.

So please give the Town Council your encouragement and support. If you went to the March lobby, or e-mailed your councillors, please do so again to show the high level of public support demonstrated in rallies, petitions and representations to councillors remaining strong.

The Council meets at Sutton Coldfield Town Hall, Upper Clifton Rd, Sutton Coldfield B73 6AB. The lobby will start at 6pm outside the hall; the meeting starts at 7pm.

Email your local councillor

Sutton Trinity Ward
City Councillors:
margaret.waddington@birmingham.gov.uk
david.pears@birmingham.gov.uk (Town Council Library Negotiating Team)
ewan.mackey@suttontrinityconservatives.co.uk (Town Council Library Negotiating Team)

Town Councillors:
Claire.Bennett@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Maria.Hewett@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Charlotte.Hodivala@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Ewan.Mackey@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk (Town Council Library Negotiating Team)
David.Pears@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk (Town Council Library Negotiating Team)
Keith.Ward@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk

Sutton New Hall Ward
City Councillors:
alex.yip@birmingham.gov.uk
ken.wood@birmingham.gov.uk
david.barrie@birmingham.gov.uk

Town Councillors:
Leeford.Allen@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Joanne.Ellis@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Derrick.Griffin@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Rachel.Okello@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
John.Perks@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Terry.Wood@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk

Sutton Vesey Ward
City Councillors:
lyn.collin@birmingham.gov.uk
andrew.hardie@birmingham.gov.uk
rob.pocock@birmingham.gov.uk

Town Councillors:
Janet.Cairns@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Paul.Long@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Liz.Parry@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Louise.Passey@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Rob.Pocock@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Manish.Puri@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk

Sutton Four oaks Ward
maureen.cornish@birmingham.gov.uk
m.jenkins@rapidcomputing.co.uk
anne.underwood@birmingham.gov.uk

Town Councillors:
David.Allan@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Clare.Horrocks@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Christopher.Ives@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Owen.Jenkins@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Jane.Mosson@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Simon.Ward@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk (Town Council Library Negotiating Team)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *